• NPI Twitter
  • NPI Facebook
  • NPI LinkedIn
  • NPI Blog
User Name
  Forgot password

2001 AEP Award Recipients

The sixth annual Achievement of Excellence in Procurement awards were presented in Las Vegas, Nevada, at the National Purchasing Institute's (NPI) conference in October 2001.  The award was also presented in Riverside, CA, at the California Association of Public Purchasing Officers' (CAPPO) conference in January 2002.

Award winners at the NPI Conference, Las Vegas
Photo by Tammy Ma

The Achievement of Excellence in Procurement awards for 2001 were earned by the following jurisdictions:

  • City of Allen, TX - Herbert Miller, Jr. CPPO, Purchasing Agent
  • Anne Arundel County Public Schools, MD - Deborah S. Groat, C.P.M., CPPB, Purchasing Officer
  • City of Battle Creek, MI - Renee A. Marsh, C.P.M., CPPO, Purchasing Agent
  • California State University, CA - Charles W. Hughes, Director of Procurement & Support Services
  • Clark County, NV - Ted J. Olivas, Purchasing & Contracts Manager
  • City of College Station, TX - Cheryl K. Turney, C.P.M., Purchasing Manager
  • City of Costa Mesa, CA - Cynthya West, CPPB, Purchasing Supervisor
  • City of Dallas, TX - Phillip J. Vasquez, Business Manager
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, TX - William A. Martin, C.P.M., Assistant VP, Procurement & Materials Management
  • City of Denton, TX - Tom D. Shaw, C.P.M., Purchasing Agent
  • Denton County, TX - Beth D. Fleming, C.P.M., A.P.P., Director of Purchasing
  • East Bay Municipal Utility District, CA - Paul R. Ghere, Manager of Purchasing
  • City of Edmonton, Ab, Canada - Gerald Goodall, Director, Materials Management Division
  • Escambia County, FL - Joe F. Pillitary, Jr., CPPB, Purchasing Manager
  • Town of Flower Mound, TX - Melanie Harden, C.P.M., Director of Purchasing & General Services
  • City of Fort Lauderdale, FL - Kirk W. Buffington, C.P.M., MBA, Purchasing & Materials Management Manager
  • Fulton County, GA - Jerome Noble, Director of Purchasing / Gus Roberson, CPPO, Chief Assistant Purchasing Agent
  • Fulton County Schools, GA - Theodore W. Makarewicz, Director of Purchasing
  • City of Garland, TX - Carol Cooper, C.P.M., Director, Material Management
  • State of Georgia, GA - Sandra Nugent, Acquisition Manager, Department of Administration Services
  • City of Grand Prairie, TX - Marty Davis, Purchasing Manager
  • City of Grapevine, TX - Charles Dent, Purchasing Agent
  • City of Greenville, SC - David J. Novack, Fiscal Support Administrator
  • Gwinnett County, GA - Debra B. Green, Acting Purchasing Director
  • Harris County, TX - Jack R. McCown, Purchasing Director
  • Irvine Ranch Water District, CA - Patricia Huntington, Purchasing Manager
  • Lake County, IL - Joni Young, C.P.M., Director of Central Services
  • Las Vegas Convention & Visitors Authority, NV - Craig A. Rowley, C.P.M., Director of Materials Management & Contract Administration
  • City of Lewisville, TX - Amy Feille, Purchasing Agent
  • City of Lompoc, CA - Ray Ambler, C.P.M., Purchasing & Materials Manager
  • Loudoun County, VA - Tina M. Borger, Manager, Purchasing & Support Services
  • Massachusetts Water Resources Authority, MA - Kevin Feeley, Director of Procurement
  • University of Miami, FL - Susan Montes, Director of University Purchasing
  • City of Mountain View, CA - Jim Williamson, Administrative Services Manager
  • City of Naperville, IL - Michael E. Bevis, CPPO, Purchasing Manager
  • City of Orange, CA - Glenn Kaye, C.P.M., Purchasing Officer
  • Orange County, FL - Johnny M. Richardson, CPPO, CACM, Manager, Purchasing & Contracts Division
  • Orange County Water District, CA - Jeffrey A. Klein, C.P.M., Purchasing Manager
  • City of Peoria, AZ - Herman Koebergen, Materials Manager
  • City of Plano, TX - Mike Ryan, Purchasing Manager
  • City of Portland, OR - Sue Klobertanz, Director, Bureau of Purchasing
  • City of Richardson, TX - Pam Kirkland, CPPO, CPPB, Purchasing Manager
  • Richland/Lexington Airport District, SC - Dave Thomas, CPPB, Procurement Manager
  • Salt Lake County, UT - Bert R. Holfeltz, C.P.M., Senior Buyer
  • City of San Antonio, TX - Janie B. Cantu, C.P.M., Director, Purchasing & General Services
  • County of San Bernardino, CA - Aurelio W. De La Torre, Purchasing Director
  • City of San Diego, CA - Linda Baldwin, Purchasing Agent
  • County of San Diego, CA - Winston F. McColl, Director, Purchasing & Contracting
  • City of Santa Clarita, CA - Jon Bischetsrieder, Purchasing Agent
  • City of Scottsdale, AZ - Monroe C. Warren. Purchasing Director
  • City of Sparks, NV - Frank D. Rothwell, Purchasing/Contracts Manager
  • City of Sugar Land, TX - Patrick Dupuy, C.P.M., Administrative Manager
  • City of Sunnyvale, CA - Elaine Wesely, Purchasing Officer
  • Tarrant County, TX - Jack Beacham, C.P.M., A.P.P., Purchasing Agent
  • City of Tempe, AZ - Ron Gauthier, CPPO, Central Services Administrator
  • University of Texas Medical Branch At Galveston, TX  - David O'Brien, Purchasing Manager
  • City of Tucson, AZ - Wayne A. Casper, C.P.M., Director of Procurement
  • City of University Park, TX - Christine Green, C.P.M., A.P.P., Purchasing Agent
  • County of Ventura, CA - Tom Gill, Purchasing Agent
  • Washoe County, NV - John Balentine, C.P.M., CPP, Purchasing & Contracts Administrator
  • Village of Wellington, FL - Stu Beebe, C.P.M., A.P.P., Purchasing & Contracts Manager
  • City of Wichita, KS - Melinda A. Walker, Purchasing Manager
  • Williamson County, TX - Robert E. Space, CPA, Purchasing Director